Monthly Archives: May 2017

Noah's Law in Maryland is important to know if you're accused of DUI or DWI

What You Need to Know About Noah’s Law in the State of Maryland

Posted by on May 12, 2017


Maryland was recently ranked as needing to do more in terms of highway safety, according to a study conducted by the advocates for highway and auto safety. Across the country, fatal vehicle accidents claimed the lives of more than 35,000 individuals in 2015 but in Maryland, nearly 6,000 people have been killed on roads throughout the state. The study classified Maryland with a yellow rating identifying that there are critical laws on the books but that there could be more. One of the most recent acts on the book is known as Noah’s Law named after Montgomery police officer, Noah Liotta. Noah Liotta was struck by a drunk driver and the law makes it so that mandatory alcohol testing devices are attached to a car’s ignition after a DUI conviction. In the state of Maryland if your blood alcohol content is 0.15 or higher and you are convicted as a first-time offender, you will have a 180-day suspension of your license without the opportunity for conditional driving situations. The ignition interlock device will be automatically installed in this situation. If you refuse a breathalyzer test during a stop for suspected DUI, the penalties will increase automatically by suspending your license for 270 days with no modifications and/or you will have to have an ignition interlock device installed. Under this new

View Full Post

;

Read More

DUI and DWI are unique charges in Maryland

What is the Difference Between a DUI and a DWI in the State of Maryland?

Posted by on May 12, 2017


It can be confusing to hear that there are both DWI and DUI charges in the state of Maryland. That is because not every state across the country will have separate DWI and DUI charges. People may use these terms interchangeably but this could generate confusion in the state of Maryland because Maryland is extremely unique in this way. Each of these charges is distinct across Maryland and can lead to different penalties as well. Typically, a defendant who is arrested will be given a citation for both DUI and DWI. Usually the state will pursue charges on a DWI if the offer did not obtain a breath result or if the breath result reads between 0.07 to 0.08. However, in the event that your breath result test is 0.08 or higher, the state will usually move forward with a DUI charge. A DWI represents driving while intoxicated and it’s considered somewhat less serious than a DUI. DWI is usually applied when you breath test under .08 but are still classified as impaired. A DUI, however, is a more serious charge in the state of Maryland. Driving under the influence of alcohol is the charge typically applied if you have a blood alcohol level content of 0.08 or higher. A DWI has a max jail time of 2 months but

View Full Post

;

Read More

Being arrested for possessing hallucinogens in Maryland is serious

What You Need to Know About Illegal Hallucinogen Charges in Maryland

Posted by on May 9, 2017


Common illegal hallucinogenic drugs include Psilocybin, also referred to as mushrooms, Peyote, MDMA or Mescaline. MDMA is the official chemical name of ecstasy, may also be referred to as “molly”. State drug enforcement officers in Maryland as well as the Drug Enforcement Agency have put a greater emphasis on making arrests for illegal hallucinogenic drugs such as ecstasy in recent years. Simple possession of these drugs is a misdemeanor that can be punished with up to $25,000 in fines and up to four years in prison. Marijuana can also be classified as a hallucinogen. However, the maximum sentence for possession of marijuana is much less at one year in jail. Due to ongoing lobbying at the state and national level, Maryland has unique and separate marijuana laws with less severe penalties that other illegal drugs. Less than 30 substances are currently classified as illegal hallucinogens in the state of Maryland but new hallucinogens can be classified as illegal if there is a high potential for abuse and the substance itself is unsafe. Consulting with an experienced Bethesda, Maryland drug possession attorney as soon as possible after you’ve been accused may be the only way to protect yourself in the serious consequences of a conviction. In addition to arrest levels increasing for drugs like ecstasy, prescription oxycodone has also been a

View Full Post

;

Read More