If you were charged with the possession of meth in Maryland, you stand to face life-changing penalties, including jail time, thousands of dollars in fines, and a permanent criminal record. Here’s what you should know about federal and state meth laws and how you can defend your rights under the law after being charged with methamphetamine possession.
Federal Methamphetamine Laws
Methamphetamine is illegal on a federal level and possession carries with it certain mandatory minimum sentences. This means that the minimum sentence is the least you could be issued. For the possession of five or more grams of meth, the mandatory minimum sentence is five years in prison with a maximum of 40 years. For the possession of fifty or more grams of meth, the mandatory minimum sentence is ten years in prison with a maximum of a life sentence.
Maryland State Methamphetamine Laws
Maryland state laws also penalize the possession of methamphetamine. Simple possession is typically considered a misdeameanor and punishable by up to 4 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $25,000. If you are found bringing meth into the state, however, the jail time and fines increase substantially. For up to 28 grams, you could be charged with a felony and sentenced to up to 25 years in prison and up to a $50,000 fine.
Possible Defenses for Methamphetamine Possession
There are many ways to defend against meth possession charges. Depending on the circumstances of your case, you may be able to argue that:
- The substance in question was not methamphetamine
- You did not know that the substance was methamphetamine
- You were not aware of the presence of meth, or the meth was not yours
- You had a valid prescription for the methamphetamine
If you were charged with intent to sell, the penalties you stand to face are even greater, especially if you are being charged with intent to sell to a minor or while within a certain distance from a school building. You may be able to argue that you were simply possessing the drug for personal use.
When You Need to Call a Maryland Drug Possession Attorney
Don’t wait to get legal help after being arrested for the possession of methamphetamine in Maryland. When your future is on the line, you need someone on your side who can provide you with aggressive, comprehensive legal support. Contact the Avid Injury & Criminal Defense Law Firm today for more information at (240) 561-7433.